Anette Haellmigk To Receive Kodak Vision Award at Women In Film Crystal + Lucy Awards


Last Updated: May 24, 2012 1:38 am GMT
(Los Angeles, California--May 24, 2012) Cinematographer Anette Haellmigk, who photographed three seasons of HBO's Big Love, will be presented with the Kodak Vision Award at the 2012 Women In Film (WIF) Crystal + Lucy® Awards in Los Angeles on June 12. The award is given annually to a female filmmaker with outstanding achievements in cinematography, who also collaborates with and assists women in the entertainment industry.

“We are honored to recognize Anette alongside Women In Film at this prestigious event,” says Kodak’s Kim Snyder. “This award pays tribute to Anette’s creative accomplishments as well as her focus and determination to succeed in a challenging line of work. Her passion is contagious, and she is a strong role model.”

A German native, Haellmigk’s first feature film experience was in 1981 working on the legendary cinematic masterpiece Das Boot, shot by Jost Vacano, who also mentored Haellmigk early in her career. She continued working in Europe on various productions as a focus puller, pioneering the role of women in a male-dominated profession.

Anette Haellmigk. Photo by Sean Moe

Haellmigk made her way stateside for Paul Verhoeven’s Robocop as a camera assistant. This collaboration began a long-term relationship, and Haellmigk has worked on Verhoeven’s crews for such projects as Starship Troopers and Hollow Man as second unit director of photography, and on Total Recall as A camera operator. She has also served as second unit cinematographer on S.W.A.T. and Never Been Kissed. Other collaborators include such first-class DPs as John Bailey, ASC (Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood), Bill Pope, ASC (Spider-Man 2), and Alex Nepomnaischy (All the Rage).

Her credits as a director of photography include various independent films in Europe and the U.S. She broke through the TV glass ceiling in 2003 when she got the opportunity to shoot several episodes of The West Wing. In addition to her work on Big Love, her TV credits include The Nine, Journeyman, The Whole Truth, Poe, and the upcoming Bunheads and 666 Park Avenue.

Previous recipients of the Kodak Vision Award include Nancy Schreiber, ASC, Sandi Sissel, ASC, Ellen Kuras, ASC, Lisa Rinzler, Amelia Vincent, ASC, Carolyn Chen, Tami Reiker, ASC, Maryse Alberti, Uta Briesewitz, Mandy Walker, ACS, Cynthia Pusheck, and Reed Morano, among others.

Since 1977, Women In Film has honored some of the most creative, prolific and socially responsible individuals in the entertainment industry, those who lead by example. The Crystal Awards were established to honor outstanding women who, through their endurance and the excellence of their work, have helped to expand the role of women within the entertainment industry. The Lucy Awards were established to recognize women and men and their creative works that exemplify the extraordinary accomplishments of Lucille Ball; whose excellence and innovation enhanced the perception of women through the medium of television. For more information, visit


© 2018 All Rights Reserved