Michael Di Girolamo Named Chairman of the 22nd Annual AICP Show


Last Updated: December 3, 2012 9:39 pm GMT
(New York, New York--December 3, 2012) Matt Miller, President and CEO of the Association of Independent Commercial Producers (AICP) announced today that Michael Di Girolamo, Partner/Executive Producer at Station Film, is the 2013 AICP Show Chairman. The Call for Entries for the AICP Show & Next Awards opens in early January 2013.

“It is a huge honor to serve as Chairman of the AICP Show,” said Di Girolamo. “After 22 years, it’s truly the most important and relevant awards show in the U.S. The Show celebrates the craft of commercial filmmaking and provides a window into the culture of a given year. In the coming weeks, we’ll be unveiling changes to the Show’s format and schedule. These changes will allow us to expand on its past successes, and reach and connect with a wider audience.”

“Michael brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to the process,” noted Miller. “His expertise in recognizing creativity and excellence is a huge asset to the AICP Show.”

Di Girolamo teamed with several accomplished partners in 2008 to form Station Film. Prior to that, he was the Head of Sales at Anonymous Content; during his tenure there, the company grew exponentially, winning several awards, including the Cannes Palme d’Or. A native New Yorker, Di Girolamo began his career as a production assistant at MTV On-Air Promos. He rose through the sales ranks at several New York production companies, before moving to Los Angeles in 1997, where he joined Partizan@Propaganda, and later RSA Films, before focusing full time on Anonymous Content.

2013 AICP Show Committee
As Show Chairman, Di Girolamo oversees a 33-member Show Committee, which is responsible for promoting and marketing the Show, and facilitating the judging process and selection of judges (the AICP Digital Chapter works with the Show Committee to select the judges for the Visual Effects, Animation and Design categories). He will also spearhead the selection of companies providing editorial, graphics and music to the Show reel. He serves on the Show’s Board of Governors, which is the final arbiter, charged with ensuring the quality of the Show and adherence to its rules. The Next Awards Judging Panel will be announced shortly.

The Show Committee serving with Di Girolamo includes: Steph Altman, Mophonics; Jeff Baron, Anonymous; Marlene Bartos, Yessian Music; Kevin Batten, Superfad; Denise Blate Roederer, Chelsea Pictures; Jacqueline Bosnjak, Q Department; Roe Bressan, Lively Group; Ned Brown, Pay Dirt Pictures; Maddi Carlton, HSI Productions; Philip Fox-Mills, RSA Films; Becky Jungmann, Station Film; Cathleen Kisich, Caviar; Gisela Knijneburg, Smuggler; Mary Knox, Red Car; Rick Lopes, The Lopes Picture Co.; Andrea Marcucci, Art Partner Film; Lisa Margulis, Directors Bureau; Charlie McBrearty, Shortlist; Melanie McEvoy, Partizan; Vanessa McLean, Shortlist; Steven Monkarsh, In House Reps; Nicole Muniz, B-Reel; Sue Rosen, Wry Wit; Michelle Ross, HSI Productions; Jamie Scalera, Miss Smith; Yvette Sears, Cosmo Street; Sasha Stern, Miss Smith; Sue Troyan, The Mill Jimmy Waldron, Smuggler; Cara Wenig, Uber Content; Kit Winter, Human; Maura Woodward, Cosmo Street; Roger Zorovich, Moxie.

The AICP Show & Next Awards
The Show, established in 1992, is the most important advertising showcase in the U.S. Each year, the best advertising appearing in the moving image is honored and made part of the archive of the Department of Film at MoMA. The Next Awards, a featured presentation of the Show, launched in 2007 to highlight the winners of the Next categories, which honor advertising which appears outside of traditional channels. Dates for the AICP Show & Next Awards will be announced in early 2013.

Founded in 1972, the AICP represents, exclusively, the interests of United States companies that specialize in producing commercials in various media – film, video, digital – for advertisers and agencies. The association, with national offices in New York and Los Angeles as well as eight regional offices, serves as a strong collective voice for this $5-plus billion industry, disseminating information; representing the production industry within the advertising community, in business circles, in labor negotiations and before governmental officials; developing industry standards and tools; providing professional development; and marketing American production.

2013 AICP Show & Next Awards Categories

Visual Style
Performance/Dialogue or Monologue
Graphic Design
Visual Effects
Original Music
Sound Design
Musical Arrangement
Production Design

Agency Art Direction

Public Service Announcement
Low Budget
Spec Spot
Student Commercial

Overall Excellence
Advertising Excellence/Single Commercial
Advertising Excellence/Campaign
Advertising Excellence/International

Integrated Campaign
Viral/Web Film
Product Integration
Cause Marketing


© 2019 CreativeCOW.net All Rights Reserved