AICP Week Line Up Announced Anchored by the premieres of the AICP Next Awards & AICP Show Tickets Now Available at


Last Updated: May 20, 2013 4:56 pm GMT
(New York, United States--May 20, 2013) Matt Miller, President and CEO of the Association of Independent Commercial Producers (AICP), today announced the lineup for AICP Week. The Week, anchored by the premieres of the AICP Next Awards and the AICP Show, is a celebration of advertising in the motion image. AICP Week will be held June 4th-June 6th in New York City.

“AICP Week is a natural progression, which ties together some of the most anticipated, unique and important events on advertising's creative calendar,” said Matt Miller, President and CEO of AICP. “We are extremely excited to see the AICP Next Awards grow into its own night of programming, and for the AICP Directors Lecture, long a mainstay which so beautifully complements the AICP Show, to come back. Pulling all of these properties together under one umbrella is an offering that we are delighted to make to the industry.”

AICP Next Awards
The AICP Next Awards – launched seven years ago with one category, and today encompassing eight – will be held on Tuesday, June 4th at the NYU Skirball Center, with a presentation of the winning work, as well as a cocktail reception. The 2013 AICP Next Awards Judging Chair is Bob Greenberg, Founder, Chairman, and CEO of R/GA, and he will serve as Master of Ceremonies for the evening.

In addition to showcasing the winners of all categories, during the Next Awards the creators of each winning Integrated Campaign piece will present case studies exploring the creative and strategic thinking behind each honored piece.
The winners this year are:
  • Nike "Nike FuelBand" | R/GA
  • LAIKA "ParaNorman" | LAIKA | Wieden + Kennedy
  • Axe "Susan Glenn" | Rattling Stick | BBH

The winner of the Most Next Award, which is the “Best in Show” honor that exemplifies from among the Next categories the most innovative and forward thinking work of the year, will be announced.

The Next Awards recognize outstanding work, and the creative forces behind it. This year the Next Awards revamped its judging process. Greenberg handpicked eight Jury Presidents, who selected judges based on their area of expertise. The Jury Presidents are: Jeff Benjamin of JWT (Product Integration); Gerry Graf of Barton F. Graf 9000 (Viral/Web Film); Jill Nussbaum of The Barbarian Group (Website/Microsite); Tiffany Rolfe of Co:Collective (Cause Marketing); Ian Schafer of Deep Focus (Social); Ian Spalter of Foursquare (Mobile); Mark Tutssel of Leo Burnett (Integrated Campaign); and Mark Waites of Mother (Experiential). Each Jury President established a stellar panel of judges who selected the winners of the 2013 AICP Next Awards.

The AICP Directors Lecture Series
June 5th marks the return of the AICP Directors Lecture Series at The Museum of Modern Art, longtime home of the AICP Show: The Art & Technique of the American Commercial. This is a "bonus" session for those who have secured an AICP Week Pass for the AICP Next Awards and the AICP Show. The Series returns with a stellar lineup of directorial talent. Featured presentations during the day include:

A Tribute To Tony Scott
David Lubars, BBDO
Jake Scott, RSA Films

Comedy Is (Still) King
Tim Godsall, Biscuit Filmworks
Steve Miller,
David Shane, O Positive
Frank Todaro, Moxie Pictures
Moderator: Susie Essman, Actress/Comedienne

Digital/Interactive Director
Jason Zada, Tool

Sneak Peek Of The 2013 Young Directors Awards Shortlist
Francois Chilot, President
Commercial Film Producers Europe

This event is a revival of sorts of the popular series that ran in conjunction with the AICP Show from the early 1990s to mid-2000s (click here to see the past participants). The Lecture Series took a hiatus to focus on other areas, and is back to turn the lens onto the directorial talent that has steered our business for years, and is driving innovation in today’s exciting times.

The AICP Show
On June 6th, the world-renowned AICP Show will premiere at The Museum of Modern Art with a screening and gala. Under the aegis of Michael Di Girolamo, Partner/Executive Producer at Station Film, and 2013 AICP Show Chairman, the Show honors work in 23 categories, including Advertising Excellence/Single Commercial, and Advertising Excellence/Campaign, which are Best In Show.

The AICP Show allows attendees to take full advantage of the MoMA facility. Guests will have access to the gallery housing MoMA's permanent collection of paintings, as well as a special exhibit of the works of Claes Oldenburg

Also on display will be cutting edge experiential technology created by X20 Media in conjunction with longtime AICP collaborators McCann Systems, which will allow attendees to view this year’s honorees, as well as the AICP Next Awards and AICP Show Shortlists
AICP Week offers an exciting lineup of content, and tickets are available at, in both pass form and a la carte.

AICP Week is a celebration of creativity and thought leadership. The Week is anchored by the Premieres of The AICP Next Awards and the AICP Show: The Art and Technique of the American Commercial, the latter culminating with the most anticipated celebration in the industry: The gala at the Museum of Modern Art. Additionally, in each year, various educational seminars and events highlighting the state of marketing in the motion image are staged.

Founded in 1972, the AICP represents, exclusively, the interests of United States companies that specialize in producing commercials in various media—film, video, digital—for advertisers and agencies. The association, with national offices in New York and Los Angeles as well as regional chapters across the country, serves as a strong collective voice for this $5-plus billion industry, disseminating information; representing the production industry within the advertising community, in business circles, in labor negotiations and before governmental officials; developing industry standards and tools; providing professional development; and marketing American production.


© 2018 All Rights Reserved