Art Directors Guild Announces Lifetime Achievement Awards Recipients, Jan. 31


Last Updated: December 17, 2014 9:04 pm GMT
(Los Angeles, California--December 17, 2014) For the first time in Art Directors Guild history, Lifetime Achievement Awards will be awarded in all four crafts comprising the ADG atthe 19th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards to be held on January 31, 2015 at a black-tie ceremony at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. As previously announced, Emmy®-winning and Oscar®-nominated Production Designer Jim Bissell will receive the Art Directors Guild’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Joining Bissell is Camille Abbott, who will receive the Illustrators and Matte Artists Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by fellow Senior Illustrator Tim Wilcox. The Set Designer receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award from his craft is John P. Bruce, presented byProduction Designer Corey Kaplan. Scenic Artist Will Ferrell is set to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Scenic, Title and Graphic Artists craft, presented by Scenic Artist Jim Fiorito. The announcement was made today by John Shaffner, ADG Council Chairman, and ADG Awards Producers Dave Blass and James Pearse Connelly.

Previous recipients of the ADG Lifetime Achievement Award are Production Designers Ken Adam, Robert Boyle, Albert Brenner, Henry Bumstead, Rick Carter, Roy Christopher, Stuart Craig, Bill Creber, John Mansbridge, Terence Marsh, Harold Michelson, Jan Scott, Paul Sylbert, Dean Tavoularis, Tony Walton, Ronald Strang and Herman Zimmerman.

Senior Illustrator Camille Abbott has worked on almost every Hollywood studio lot during her illustrious career including Paramount, Warner Bros., Universal, Lorimar, MGM and 20th Century Fox. Her distinguished work as an Illustrator in motion pictures includes such films as Spaceballs (1987), Flashdance (1983), Two of a Kind (1983), Annie (1982) and Knightriders (1981). Her TV credits include Production Illustrator for such films and shows as Eerie, Indiana, The Earth Day Special, Battlestar Galactica and Ryan’s Four, among many others. Abbott’s talents have also extended into theater productions and have graced numerous productions for the West Coast Ensemble Theater, Burbank Civic Light Opera and the Pan Andreas Theater.

Senior Set Designer John P. Bruce is a 43-year veteran who started at MGM studios as an apprentice Set Designer and has worked continuously ever since, eventually achieving the titles of Senior Lead Set Designer and Art Director. He is best known for his set designs on such notable projects as Armageddon (1998), Falcon Crest (1981) and Batman & Robin (1997). He was the Set Designer for numerous films, including Frost (2012), Sky High (2005), The Killer Inside Me (2010), The Matrix (1999), What About Bob (1991), Jaws (1973), Anaconda (1997), Flubber (1997), The Sting (1973), Blue Hawaii (1961) and Looney Tunes: Back in Action (2003). His extensive TV credits include Set Designer for such series as Scandal, Cold Case, The X-Files, Dexter, Murder She Wrote, Star Trek (Deep Space Nine), The Love Boat, The Man From U.N.C.L.E. and Art Director for such series as Falcon Crest, The Waltons, Barnaby Jones and Baretta. Bruce has been an active leader in both Locals 847 and 800. He served as Vice President for Local 847 prior to their merger with Local 800 and is currently a board member.

Distinguished Scenic Artist Will Ferrell’s work includes theatre productions for the Mark Taper Forum, The Ahmanson Theater and the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion for such shows as Oklahoma, The King & I, Carousel, Around the World in 80 Days and Kiss Me Kate. Ferrell left the theatre to work on such motion pictures as Patriot Games (1992), The Hunt for Red October (1990), Coming to America (1988), Planes, Trains and Automobiles (1987), Funny Girl (1968), Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner (1967), Hawaii (1966), Mary Poppins (1964) and The Birds (1963). Ferrell’s television credits include such variety shows as The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour, The Dean Martin Show, The Jerry Lewis Show, The Jonathan Winters Show, The Red Skelton Show and The Carol Burnett Show. Ferrell worked at almost every Hollywood studio, including Paramount, where he and his twin brother established their own company, Pyramid Scenic Corporation. Will later moved to Las Vegas where he set up Ferrell Scenic Art; his work there includes murals painted at Caesar’s Palace. Ferrell served as the Business Representative for Local 816 for three years.

Jim Bissell's impressive work can be seen in such notable films as E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (1982), which took home four Oscars® with an additional five Oscar® nominations in 1983; The Rocketeer (1991), Jumanji (1995), 300 (2006), Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol (2011) and most recently The Monuments Men (2014), directed by and starring George Clooney. Monuments Men is Bissell’s fourth collaboration with Clooney, which began with Confessions of a Dangerous Mind (2002), followed by Oscar®-nominated Good Night, and Good Luck (2005) and continued with Leatherheads (2007). Bissell has been awarded a Primetime Emmy® for Palmerstown, U.S.A. (shared with Bill Webb, 1980), an Oscar® nomination and Satellite Award win for Good Night, and Good Luck (Oscar® nomination shared with Jan Pascale, 2005) among additional nominations from the ADG, BAFTA and LAFCA Awards. His other credits include: Twilight Zone: The Movie (1983), The Falcon and the Snowman (1985), Harry and the Hendersons (1987), Someone to Watch Over Me (1987), Twins (1988), Always (1989), Dennis the Menace (1993), Blue Chips (1994), Tin Cup (1996), Cats & Dogs (2001) and The Ring Two (2005). Bissell is currently working on Mission: Impossible 5 (2015) and the recently announced film 1906 (release TBA).

As previously announced, filmmaker Christopher Nolan will receive the prestigious Cinematic Imagery Award. Nominations for this year’s ADG Excellence in Production Design Awards will be announced on January 5, 2015. The ADG will present winners in 11 competitive categories for theatrical films, television productions, commercials and music videos on January 31, 2015.

Media sponsors for the ADG Awards are The Hollywood Reporter, Variety, and SHOOTonline.

ADG Awards are open only to productions, when made within the U.S. by producers signatory to the IATSE agreement. Foreign entries are acceptable without restrictions. Further inquiries regarding the ADG Awards may be directed to Debbie Patton in the ADG Awards Office at (818) 762-9995
About the Art Directors Guild:
The Art Directors Guild (IATSE Local 800) represents 2,300 members who work throughout the United States, Canada and the rest of the world in film, television and theater as Production Designers, Art Directors, Assistant Art Directors; Scenic, Title and Graphic Artists; Illustrators and Matte Artists; and Set Designers and Model Makers. Established in 1937, the ADG's ongoing activities include a Film Society, an annual Awards Banquet, a creative/technology community (5D: The Future of Immersive Design), a bimonthly craft magazine (Perspective); and extensive technology-training programs, figure drawing and other creative workshops and year-round Gallery 800 art exhibitions. The Guild’s Online Directory/Website Resource is at Follow ADG on Facebook, Twitter: @ADG800 (#ADGAwards) and YouTube


© 2019 All Rights Reserved