Cheryl Boone Isaacs and Bob Newhart to be Honored at International Cinematographers Guild Publicist Luncheon, Feb 20


Last Updated: January 21, 2015 1:18 am GMT
(Los Angeles, California--January 21, 2015) The Publicists of the International Cinematographers Guild have named Cheryl Boone Isaacs, President of the Motion Picture Academy®, as recipient of the President’s Award, and comedian Bob Newhart recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, to be presented at the 52nd Annual Publicists Luncheon at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on February 20.

Isaacs will receive the award from Ava DuVernay, director of Paramount Pictures' current hit film Selma, nominated for Best Picture and Best Original Song, just three days before the Oscars®. Isaacs is the first African-American to be Academy® President, the third woman (after Bette Davis and Fay Kanin) and the third member of the Public Relations branch to serve in that position. She has been on the AMPAS® board for 21 years and is currently serving her second term as President. DuVernay, director of Selma, is also a former publicist. They will be introduced by ICG National President, Steven Poster, ASC.

“Cheryl represents the finest qualities of our profession,” said Awards Committee chairman Henri Bollinger. “She has an extraordinary track record as a marketing executive, while at the same time devoting her talents and influence to improving the public perception of all who contribute to the cinematic arts.”

Bob Newhart, the comedian known for his deadpan delivery and slight stammer, and recipient of the Publicists’ Lifetime Achievement Award, has been beloved since the ‘60s when his album The Button Down Mind of Bob Newhart received the 1961 Grammy® Award for Album of the Year. That same year he was offered his own television show, The Bob Newhart Show which lasted just one season but came back strongly in 1972, running until 1978.He also had numerous appearances on television shows such as The Dean Martin Show, The Ed Sullivan Show, The Tonight Show with Johnny Carson and many others. His Newhart TV series, in which he played a Vermont innkeeper, ran from 1982 to 1990. He continues to work hard with an appearance in current TV series The Big Bang Theory. He won a Golden Globe® for Best TV Star in 1962 and a Primetime Emmy® as guest actor on the Big Bang Theory in 2013.

Steven Poster, ASC, President of the ICG, noted, “We are delighted to honor two such extraordinary people. Cheryl Boone Isaacs has carved her own path to success, and Bob Newhart has been part of all our lives for more than 50 years.”

Previous Lifetime Achievement recipients include Arnold Schwarzenegger, Clint Eastwood, Peter Bart, Robert Zemeckis, Julie Andrews, Army Archerd, Sylvester Stallone, Sid Ganis, Harrison Ford, Carol Burnett, Kirk Douglas and last year’s recipient, Jerry Lewis.

The recipients of the Television Showmanship Award and the Motion Picture Showmanship Award will be announced shortly. Other awards to be handed out are the Les Mason Award, the highest honor bestowed on a publicist, the Excellence in Still Photography Awards, the Press Award, the International Media Award and the Maxwell Weinberg Publicist Showmanship Awards for Television and Motion Pictures.

About the International Cinematographers Guild:
The International Cinematographers Guild (IATSE Local 600) represents more than 7,000 members who work in film, television and commercials as Directors of Photography, Camera Operators, Visual Effects Supervisors, Still Photographers, Camera Assistants, Film Loaders, all members of camera crews and Publicists. The first cinematographers union was established in New York in 1926, followed by unions in Los Angeles and Chicago, but it wasn't until 1996 that Local 600 was born as a national guild. ICG's ongoing activities include the Emerging Cinematographer Awards and the Publicists Awards Luncheon. The Guild also publishes the award-winning ICG Magazine.


© 2018 All Rights Reserved