Sherlock Takes Amps Award For Excellence In Sound For 2014


Last Updated: April 23, 2015 7:40 pm GMT
(April 23, 2015) AMPS (The Association of Motion Picture Sound) is extremely happy to announce that Jon Mooney, Paul McFadden, Doug Sinclair and Howard Bargroff have won the 2014 AMPS ‘Award for Excellence in Sound for a Television Drama’ for their work on Sherlock.

Sound Mixer Howard Bargroff commented, "Thanks so much for this. Means a lot coming from such an illustrious body as AMPS. We're really chuffed to say the least.”

The winners will receive their trophies at an AMPS awards ceremony in September along with the 2014 AMPS Film Award winners.

Five TV Dramas broadcast in 2014 were selected by an AMPS Awards Committee, from which the four leading sound crew members (Production Sound Mixing, Dialogue Editing, Sound Effects Editing and Re-recording Mixing were nominated for award.

Laura Lovejoy from the AMPS TV Awards Group said, “I would like to congratulate the Sherlock sound team on their win as they were up against tough competition. Sherlock is a very popular show and the sound track has always been of a very high standard so it is a worthy winner of this award.”

The nominees for the TV award were Grant Bridgeman, Keith Marriner, Simon Gershon & Richard Davey for Cilla; Ronan Hill, Jed M. Dodge, Tim Kimmel, Richard Dyer & Onnalee Blank for Game of Thrones; Dave Sansom, Elizabeth Cresswell, Mark Ryder & Mark Briscoe for Happy Valley; Glen Marullo, Lee Crichlow, Linda Murdoch & Nigel Edwards for The Honorable Woman and John Mooney, Paul McFadden, Doug Sinclair & Howard Bargroff for Sherlock.

AMPS Sustaining Members Twickenham Studios and Goldcrest Post Production sponsored the award. Maria Walker at Twickenham Studios said,
"We are delighted to be associated with AMPS and to be a sponsor of its inaugural Television Award 2014. Sherlock was a worthy winner and I congratulate the sound team on their win.'

The Film and TV award program was created in celebration of the Association’s 25th anniversary in 2014 with plans to expand in future years to include a broader selection of creative sound technicians as well as encompassing television sound and gaming.

AMPS (The Association of Motion Picture Sound) was founded in 1989 by a UK based group of like-minded Film and Television sound professionals. The aim was to establish an organisation where those engaged in the various crafts of sound for moving images could exchange information, endeavour to solve common problems and keep abreast of rapidly changing technology.


© 2018 All Rights Reserved