International Cinematographers Guild Selects 19th Annual Emerging Cinematographer Awardees


Last Updated: June 26, 2015 8:07 pm GMT
(LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA--June 26, 2015) The International Cinematographers Guild (ICG, IATSE Local 600) has named eight honorees for the 19th Annual Emerging Cinematographer Awards (ECA). The short films will premiere at the Directors Guild of America Theater in Los Angeles on September 27, 2015. A New York premiere will follow on October 25 at the School of Visual Arts.

The honorees selected from almost 100 submissions are:

Daniel Cotroneo, Camera Operator (The Other Side)
Devin Doyle, 1st Assistant (Fish Friend), a previous ECA honoree in 2014
John Garrett, 2nd Assistant (Delia)
Jason Hafer, Operator (Incident On Highway 73)
David Kruta, Operator (Lullaby), a previous ECA honoree in 2014
Michael Nie, 2nd Assistant (Dust), a previous ECA honoree in 2011
Tobin Oldach, 2nd Assistant (Thirst)
T.J. Williams Jr., Operator (Color TV, No Vacancy), a previous ECA honoree in 2013

The purpose of the ECAs is to nurture talent within the Guild and to give promising cinematographers the crucial exposure they need to succeed in the motion picture industry.

The ECAs are open to any member of the Guild who is not already classified as a Director of Photography. Members are asked to submit films they have photographed with a running time of 30 minutes or less. The ICG is the only organization in the entertainment industry that offers its up-and-coming members the opportunity to be recognized and the chance to further their careers.

The films are selected by a panel of ICG members from across the country and can be seen by a wider audience at film festivals.

Steven Poster, president of the ICG, said, “I am continually amazed and delighted by the high standards in these short films. It shows, once again, that our camera crews are the best trained and most professional in the world. And we are grateful to our generous sponsors, who come back year after year, knowing that these young filmmakers are their future customers.”

Jimmy Matlosz, who has been chairman of the Guild’s ECA committee since 2008, added, “Every new year brings about a new crop of potential ECA winners, and every year our members continue to raise the bar and give us hope and inspiration for the art and future of cinematography.”

The event is sponsored entirely by industry manufacturers and vendors including Canon USA, Inc., Tiffen, ARRI, Sony Electronics, Technicolor, CW-Sonderoptic, K 5600, Go Pro, Assimilate, The Rag Place, Anton/Bauer, Litepanels, O’Connor, Creative Handbook, Carl Zeiss, Panavision, Kodak, Blackmagic Design, AbelCine, J.L. Fisher, Matthews Studio Equipment, Band Pro, Panasonic, Chimera, Cinelease, Cineo Lighting, Clairmont Camera, Rosco, Illumination Dynamics, Kino Flo, Mole-Richardson Co., Sekonic, Sim Digital, Cinemills and Codex.

# # #

About the International Cinematographers Guild:
T he International Cinematographers Guild (IATSE Local 600) is a national union representing more than 7,000 members who work in film, television and commercials as Directors of Photography, Camera Operators, Visual Effects Supervisors, Still Photographers, Camera Assistants, Film Loaders, all members of camera crews and Publicists. ICG's ongoing activities include the Emerging Cinematographer Awards and the Publicists Awards Luncheon. The Guild also publishes the award-winning ICG Magazine.


© 2019 All Rights Reserved