Alan & Marilyn Bergman to Receive Special Award of Merit at ICG


Award to be Presented at Beverly Hilton Hotel February 26

Last Updated: December 15, 2015 7:35 pm GMT
(Los Angeles, California--December 15, 2015) Legendary lyricists Alan and Marilyn Bergman are to receive the Special Award of Merit at the 53rd Annual International Cinematographers Guild (ICG, IATSE Local 600) Publicists Awards, to be held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Friday, February 26, 2016. They are being recognized for their unparalleled record in the creation of memorable songs that are now part of the American psyche. Their lyrics are instantly recognizable, with such songs as The Windmills of Your Mind and The Way We Were.

Nominated for 16 Academy Awards® for Best Song and winning three, the Bergmans have worked with many of the the world's top composers and singers for more than five decades. They include Sting, Barbra Streisand, Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett, Johnny Mandel, Michel Legrand, Dave Grusin, John Williams, Quincy Jones, James Newton Howard, Cy Coleman, Henry Mancini and Marvin Hamlisch.

As previously announced, FX Networks CEO John Landgraf will be named Television Showman of the Year. Still to be announced are the Motion Picture Showman and a Lifetime Achievement honoree. The Publicists will also honor their own with the Les Mason Award, the highest honor for a publicist, and the Maxwell Weinberg Awards for Motion Picture and Television Campaigns. The Bob Yeager Award for Community Service, the Unit Still Photography Award for Motion Pictures and Television, the Press Award and the International Media Award will be announced at the event.

The International Cinematographers Guild (IATSE Local 600) represents more than 7,000 members who work in film, television and commercials as Directors of Photography, Camera Operators, Visual Effects Supervisors, Still Photographers, Camera Assistants, Film Loaders, all members of camera crews and Publicists. The first cinematographers union was established in New York in 1926, followed by unions in Los Angeles and Chicago, but it wasn't until 1996 that Local 600 was born as a national guild. ICG's ongoing activities include the Emerging Cinematographer Awards and the Publicists Awards Luncheon. The Guild also publishes the award-winning ICG Magazine

Entertainment publicists first formed a union in 1937 as the Screen Publicists Guild, later becoming the Publicists Guild. In 2002 the IATSE merged them with the International Cinematographers Guild (Local 600). The first Publicists Awards Luncheon was held in 1962 and has since grown to an event attended annually by up to 900 publicists and industry leaders. Many of the greatest actors, directors and executives have accepted the Motion Picture and Television Showmanship Awards and Lifetime Achievement Awards and include Arnold Schwarzenegger, Clint Eastwood, Julie Andrews, Harrison Ford, Sylvester Stallone, Carol Burnett, Kirk Douglas, Stanley Kramer, Joanne Woodward and Paul Newman, Bob Hope and Shonda Rhimes. In addition, the members honor their own through the Maxwell Weinberg Awards for publicity campaigns, the Bob Yeager Award for Community Service and the Les Mason, the greatest honor to be paid to a publicist.

Hashtag: #PublicistsAwards


© 2019 All Rights Reserved