Nominations Announced For The 54th Annual Publicists Awards


Ceremony to Take Place February 24, 2017 at The Beverly Hilton

Last Updated: January 18, 2017 3:04 pm GMT
(Los Angeles, CA--January 18, 2017) The International Cinematographers Guild has announced nominees for the 54th Annual ICG Publicists Awards Luncheon to be held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Friday, February 24, 2017.

The nominees for the Les Mason Award, the highest honor that publicists can bestow on one of their own members, are:
• Barbara Hannegan, Senior Publicist, Warner Bros. Pictures International
• William Hendley, Senior Publicist - Global Publicity, The Walt Disney Studios
• Ernie Malik, Unit Publicist
• Maureen O’Malley, Senior Publicist and Project Supervisor, Warner Bros. Pictures International
• Rosalind Jarrett Sepulveda, Executive in Charge of Publicity, Screen Actors Guild Awards

The nominees for the Maxwell Weinberg Publicist Showmanship Motion Picture Award are:
• 20th Century Fox for Deadpool
• Columbia Pictures for Sausage Party
• Universal Pictures for The Secret Life of Pets
• The Walt Disney Studios for The Jungle Book
• Warner Bros. Pictures for Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

The nominees for the Maxwell Weinberg Publicist Showmanship Television Award are:
• CBS Television for The Late Late Show with James Corden
• Fox 21 Television Studios for The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story
• 20th Century Fox Television for Speechless
• 20th Century Fox for This Is Us

The nominees for the Press Award are:
• Debra Birnbaum – Executive Editor - Television, Variety
• Grae Drake – Senior Editor, Rotten Tomatoes
• Lindsey Bahr – Film Writer, Associated Press
• Sean Smith – Executive Editor - Film, Entertainment Weekly
• Steve Weintraub – Editor-in-Chief, Collider

The nominees for the International Media Award are:
• Adam Tanswell (UK)
• Brent Simon (China)
• Elisabeth Serada (Austria)
• Jane Mulkerrins (UK)
• Michael Idato (Australia)
• Peter Mitchell (Australia)

The nominees for the Excellence in Unit Still Photography for Motion Pictures Award are:
• Andrew Schwartz
• Claire Folger
• Jaap Buitendijk
• Murray Close
• Niko Tavernise

The nominees for the Excellence in Unit Still Photography for Television Award are:
• Beth Dubber
• Jessica Miglio
• John Johnson
• Justin Lubin
• Kevin Estrada

As previously announced, the Publicists Awards will honor Denzel Washington (Motion Picture Showman of the Year), Ryan Murphy (Television Showman of the Year), DreamWorks New Media Chairman Jeffrey Katzenberg (Lifetime Achievement Award) and BWR Founding Partner Nanci Ryder (President’s Award). More than 900 industry leaders are expected to attend.

# # #

Entertainment publicists first formed a union in 1937 as the Screen Publicists Guild, later becoming the Publicists Guild. In 2002 the Publicists Guild merged with the International Cinematographers Guild (Local 600). The first Publicists Awards Luncheon was held in 1962 and has since grown to an event attended annually by up to 900 publicists and industry leaders. Many of the greatest actors, directors and executives have accepted the Motion Picture and Television Showmanship Awards and Lifetime Achievement Awards and include Arnold Schwarzenegger, Clint Eastwood, Julie Andrews, Harrison Ford, Sylvester Stallone, Carol Burnett, Kirk Douglas, Stanley Kramer, Joanne Woodward and Paul Newman, Bob Hope and Shonda Rhimes. In addition, the members honor their own through the Maxwell Weinberg Awards for publicity campaigns, the Bob Yeager Award for Community Service and the Les Mason, the greatest honor to be paid to a publicist. The Guild also publishes the Annual ICG Publicists Membership Directory, which is given out at the Annual ICG Publicists Awards.

The International Cinematographers Guild (IATSE Local 600) represents more than 7,800 members who work in film, television and commercials as Directors of Photography, Camera Operators, Visual Effects Supervisors, Still Photographers, Camera Assistants, Film Loaders, all members of camera crews and Publicists. The first cinematographers union was established in New York in 1926, followed by unions in Los Angeles and Chicago, but it wasn’t until 1996 that Local 600 was born as a national guild. ICG’s ongoing activities include the Emerging Cinematographer Awards and the Publicists Awards Luncheon. The Guild also publishes the award-winning ICG Magazine.


© 2019 All Rights Reserved