Art Directors Guild to Honor IATSE President Matthew Loeb


ADG’s 22nd Annual “Excellence in Production Design” Awards Gala takes place on Saturday, January 27 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom

Last Updated: December 4, 2017 5:12 pm GMT
(Los Angeles, CA--December 4, 2017) Matthew D. Loeb, International President of the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE), will be honored with a special Leadership Award from the Art Directors Guild (ADG, IATSE Local 800) at its 22nd Annual "Excellence in Production Design Awards.” ADG Executive Director Chuck Parker will present the award at the black-tie gala on Saturday, January 27, 2018 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland.

IATSE International President Matthew D. Loeb

“The Art Directors Guild is thrilled to honor the incredible forward leadership of IATSE President Matthew Loeb with the ADG’s Leadership Award. Under his thoughtful direction, Loeb has increased the IATSE stature throughout the industry, and brought about higher standards for all the member locals of IATSE,” said ADG President Nelson Coates.

“The Art Directors Guild is proud to be aligned with the politically and socially progressive leadership consistently provided by Matt Loeb,” added Parker.

President Loeb has served as IATSE International President for almost 10 years and has been a member of the United Scenic Artists (IATSE Local 829), a member of the Motion Picture Studio Mechanics (IATSE Local 52), and a Charter Member of Film and Television Production Technicians (IATSE Local 491). He was the IATSE’s first Director of Motion Picture and Television Production and was International Vice President for two terms. In addition, he served as Chairman of the East Coast Council for more than 14 years.

Among his many other positions, Loeb is a member of the AFL-CIO Executive Council, Co-Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the IATSE National Benefit Funds and Director on Board of the Motion Picture Industry Pension and Health Plans. He serves and supports a number of industry entities that benefit IATSE members including the Advisory Board of the Will Rogers Motion Picture Pioneers Foundation, the Board of Directors of the Motion Picture and Television Fund, and a member of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences. In addition, Loeb established the IATSE’s Education Department and programs such as LEAP, the Officer’s Institute and the Training Trust for members of the union.

As previously announced, Kathleen Kennedy, the Oscar-nominated producer and President of Lucasfilm, will be honored with the 2018 “Cinematic Imagery Award.” Sir Ken Adam, the Oscar-winning Production Designer behind the James Bond franchise, and Tyrus Wong, award-winning Illustrator of Bambi fame, will be inducted into ADG’s Hall of Fame. Lifetime Achievement Awards will also be presented to Production Designer Norm Newberry, Scenic Artist John Moffitt, Set Designer James J. Murakami and Senior Illustrator Martin Kline. Additionally, the ADG will premiere the “Excellence in Production Design for Animated Features” Award this year.

Producers of this year's ADG Awards (#ADGawards) are Production Designers Thomas A. Walsh ADG and Thomas Wilkins ADG. Online nomination voting will begin December 6, 2017 and nominees announced on January 4, 2018. Final online balloting will be held January 8 –25, and winners will be announced at the dinner ceremony on Saturday, January 27, 2018. ADG Awards are open only to productions when made within the U.S. by producer’s signatory to the IATSE agreement. Foreign entries are acceptable without restrictions.

The ADG Awards is proud to be sponsored by Design Vanguard Level: Shutterstock; Media Sponsors: The Hollywood Reporter, Variety and SHOOT.

# # #

The Art Directors Guild (IATSE Local 800) represents 2,500 members who work throughout the United States, Canada and the rest of the world in film, television and theater as Production Designers, Art Directors, Assistant Art Directors; Scenic, Title and Graphic Artists; Illustrators and Matte Artists; Set Designers, Model Makers and Previs Artists. Established in 1937, the ADG’s ongoing activities include a Film Society, an annual Awards Banquet, a bimonthly craft magazine (Perspective); and extensive technology-training programs, figure drawing and other creative workshops and year-round Gallery 800 art exhibitions. The Guild’s Online Directory/Website Resource is at

The IATSE is an International Union representing members employed in the stagecraft, motion picture and television production, and tradeshow industries throughout the United States, its Territories, and Canada. For further information, visit


© 2020 All Rights Reserved